Let me make this clear – I’m not looking for a cure.

It seems that everywhere I look for resources on Autism one word keeps launching itself from webpages, books and well-meaning mouths: CURE.

Let me make this clear – I am not looking for a cure for my children’s Autism.

Are they getting therapy, yes. Are they getting tests done and making their doctor’s visits and getting all manner of things like hearing and vision checked out? you betcha. But it is not because I am looking to “cure” them of their Autism.

It is because I strive to make them the best people they can be.

Just like I give extra help for my daughter with Dyslexia. Just like I expose my other daughter to reading books that are higher than her grade level. And will be looking into speech therapies for my youngest daughter if her lisp persists. I am trying to give my children the tools to excel. To become the best people they are capable of. They do not need a cure. They need love and guidance individually tailored to their specific needs

By definition, Cure means to remedy that which is at fault

cure  (kyr)n.

1. Restoration of health; recovery from disease. My sons are not diseased.
2. A method or course of medical treatment used to restore health. My sons are both extremely health

4. Something that corrects or relieves a harmful or disturbing situation. My sons are not disturbed or harmful.

 

Are we talking semantics,  yeah, a bit but the fact of the matter is that even if my sons both develop into what social outlets describe as “normal”, they will still have Autism. They have just learned how to move through life closer to your acceptance level.

I get really annoyed when my sons display “Autistic behavior” and people want to make them stop. Especially when it’s not being harmful in any way other than to another individuals comfort. Because, let’s be really honest here, you don’t want to cure my sons, you want them to blend it, be “normal”, not interrupt you in public or make you uncomfortable in any way. YOU want to CURE my sons because you are not interested in acceptance. Or compassion. Or love.

You look at my son with disgust and contempt and put on a shining mask of caring that you hide behind as you search for your “cures” to stop your own selves from growing into true compassionate beings.

Will I stop helping my sons to be the best people they can be? No. But I also won’t force them to conform when there is no need other than to satisfy someone else.

Leave a comment